Opinion: What makes a good asp.net app??

eramgarden

Contributor
At this new job of mine, I'm working with a asp.net application that was done by another company...

1.# of users..maybe 200
2. It went Live, 5 months ago

I'm new at this job but some stuff I've noticed:
1. They keep datasets in cache (they used to keep them in session). Users get "failed to load page from cache" from time to time
2. We got "out of memory exception" 5 or 6 times last week
3. Developers "throw" the errors instead of trapping them. Users get asp.net pink error pages
4. The code is layered into "facade", data layer and then the presentation layer.
5. Everything is in stored procs...maybe 1070 stored procs.

now I told my managers that this is the slowest and buggiest application I've ever worked with. They defended the other company!.

My questions
What is a good asp.net application? shouldnt an ASP.net app support 10,000 users (someone told me that) without cache and memory issues?? And i think the app has many bugs but the manager didnt like it when i said it.

1. I've personally no issues with keeping read only data in cache , however if the item isn't in cache that is not an excuse to give up - go reload the data into cache...
however if the data being cached is excessively large (possible considering your point 2) then I would be either more selective in what I cache or more aggresive in ageing it out.
2. CLRProfiler is your friend. Use it. If you are freeing up unmananged resources correctly and not blindly stuffing anything and everything into session / application variables then you shouldn't be running out of memory.