DimkaNewtown Posted April 11, 2003 Posted April 11, 2003 in C# or VB.NET yet? If so which brand did you use, did you run into any specific problems? Quote
Moderators Robby Posted April 11, 2003 Moderators Posted April 11, 2003 I've done barcode work in VB6, I don't see anything that would change in .NET, all it is is manipulating a string input/output. I can't tell you what brand they were, sorry. Quote Visit...Bassic Software
DimkaNewtown Posted April 12, 2003 Author Posted April 12, 2003 I'm wondering how does the scanner work... was there an API to help you or does it include some kind of a windows driver? thanks! Quote
Moderators Robby Posted April 12, 2003 Moderators Posted April 12, 2003 The scanner is no more that a keyboard. When you scan a barcode, it's just like typing in (let' say) 10 keys. The only requirement is a set of fonts you need to install on your system. So to display the scanned item in a textbox, you will set the Font of that textbox to whichever font your scanner uses. Some fonts: (not free) Code 39 Code 128 Code 93 http://www.riversedge.com/h00001.htm Quote Visit...Bassic Software
coward Posted April 14, 2003 Posted April 14, 2003 or go here http://www.idautomation.com/sitemap/ they have free barcode font samples - good for testing whether your reader works or not. The thing is they are missing certain numbers - hence the free-ness :) Quote
DimkaNewtown Posted April 17, 2003 Author Posted April 17, 2003 (edited) I did not know that. That is very cool and sounds easy to use! One other thing, can you recommend a good scanner? I've been tasked with deciding which one to use... :) Edited April 17, 2003 by DimkaNewtown Quote
DimkaNewtown Posted April 17, 2003 Author Posted April 17, 2003 Ok we're going to use Code 128 fonts with a USB CCD scanner. Reason is that fedex ground uses Code 128 to encode their labels which we need to decode. :) Thanks to all who helped! Quote
kevino Posted January 15, 2004 Posted January 15, 2004 How do read the barcode scanner when it scans a barcode in C#. Do you use a socket connection? Can anyone help regarding this? Quote
Moderators Robby Posted January 15, 2004 Moderators Posted January 15, 2004 read my second post (above) Quote Visit...Bassic Software
siobi Posted April 16, 2004 Posted April 16, 2004 read my second post (above) but how to implement the scanning part? file I/O? any sample? or tutorial? Quote
Arch4ngel Posted April 16, 2004 Posted April 16, 2004 hey... read above before going to the last post... you'll find answers to your questions. do you have to program the keyboard input ? NO do you have to program the bar scanner input ? NO Just like a keyboard. Keep that in mind Quote "If someone say : "Die mortal !"... don't stay to see if he isn't." - Unknown "Learning to program is like going out with a new girl friend. There's always something that wasn't mentioned in the documentation..." - Me "A drunk girl is like an animal... it scream at everything like a cat and roll in the grass like a dog." - Me after seeing my girlfriend drunk and some of her drunk friend. C# TO VB TRANSLATOR
Moderators Robby Posted April 16, 2004 Moderators Posted April 16, 2004 Siobi, I understand you're new to this board but please read the thread before reviving a three month old thread, the answer as I've already stated is in my second post. Quote Visit...Bassic Software
iebidan Posted April 16, 2004 Posted April 16, 2004 Scanners work as keyboards, as simple as that, when you scan a code its input is a string, like the one sent by the keyboard, if the control you're on in that moment is a textbox it'll recieve the string, you can catch it and manipulate it, even you can add in the configuration of the scanner if you want at the end of the string a character or something. We created an application that's used in every store around the country for inventories, and when a product arrives to the store the use the scanner to capture it Quote Fat kids are harder to kidnap
neodammer Posted April 21, 2004 Posted April 21, 2004 I thought bar codes where more secure then that lol Quote Enzin Research and Development
Moderators Robby Posted April 22, 2004 Moderators Posted April 22, 2004 Yes a scanner that relays its' info back to a server may be more secure. Quote Visit...Bassic Software
iebidan Posted April 22, 2004 Posted April 22, 2004 I don't see the point, a scanner is an IO peripheral, just as the keyboard or mouse, don't see what you mean with security. Quote Fat kids are harder to kidnap
Arch4ngel Posted April 22, 2004 Posted April 22, 2004 Yeah... maybe we shall put a firewall or something like this on the wire between the bar code scanner and the computer. :p What do you think iebidan ? Shall we hire bodyguards too ? :p Security shouldn't be thight... do you "protect" your keyboard ? As I know... standard barcode scanner (those with a wire less than 6 feet long) only return string to a program that is able to receipt them (notepad). And why should we protect what they scan ? it's a code anyway. a code that is link to informations in a DB. The information in the DB aren't transfered by the barcode scanner. yeah.... I'll search a barcode scanner with improved security on ebay. :p Quote "If someone say : "Die mortal !"... don't stay to see if he isn't." - Unknown "Learning to program is like going out with a new girl friend. There's always something that wasn't mentioned in the documentation..." - Me "A drunk girl is like an animal... it scream at everything like a cat and roll in the grass like a dog." - Me after seeing my girlfriend drunk and some of her drunk friend. C# TO VB TRANSLATOR
Moderators Robby Posted April 22, 2004 Moderators Posted April 22, 2004 Why is everyone blowing this out of proportion? It is a valid question to which I addressed in my last post... Because if you do have a connection wireless or not being sent to a common server you do need some security. Quote Visit...Bassic Software
Arch4ngel Posted April 22, 2004 Posted April 22, 2004 Well... I havent seen much of barcode scanner that are wireless... But... Why are we still talking in this thread ? This thread was about implenting a barcode scanner. But around the whole subject I think... at least enough for a beginner to implement that Quote "If someone say : "Die mortal !"... don't stay to see if he isn't." - Unknown "Learning to program is like going out with a new girl friend. There's always something that wasn't mentioned in the documentation..." - Me "A drunk girl is like an animal... it scream at everything like a cat and roll in the grass like a dog." - Me after seeing my girlfriend drunk and some of her drunk friend. C# TO VB TRANSLATOR
iebidan Posted April 22, 2004 Posted April 22, 2004 Well, answering to the main subject of this thread, yes I've implemented a barcode scanner using C++, what brand???, IBM now, using a wireless scanner will be useless for a hacker or someone, they will only get the code sent to the computer the scanner is an input ONLY device, if they don't have the database where the information is stored is useless, so no, no secure scanners needed nor encryption, is safe enough Quote Fat kids are harder to kidnap
iebidan Posted April 22, 2004 Posted April 22, 2004 oh!!!! and no, not a single problem to implement it, we'd more problems implementing the automatic drawer than the scanner Quote Fat kids are harder to kidnap
Arch4ngel Posted April 22, 2004 Posted April 22, 2004 Thread.Close(); Thread.Dispose(); I think we got around the whole subject now ! :D Quote "If someone say : "Die mortal !"... don't stay to see if he isn't." - Unknown "Learning to program is like going out with a new girl friend. There's always something that wasn't mentioned in the documentation..." - Me "A drunk girl is like an animal... it scream at everything like a cat and roll in the grass like a dog." - Me after seeing my girlfriend drunk and some of her drunk friend. C# TO VB TRANSLATOR
haryanvi Posted June 9, 2004 Posted June 9, 2004 Bar Code Scanning but how to implement the scanning part? file I/O? any sample? or tutorial? Scanning bar code is very easy, you can also scan through an actual scanned image which has a barcode and use VisionShapes Bar code reader class to go through the full page and get the value of the barcodes as string output. Scanning can be done through tradional scanners or scanners ment for barcodes attached to ur PC :D Quote
doubled Posted July 14, 2004 Posted July 14, 2004 sorry to bring this post back alive but I need a little help with a scanner app... OK the scanners that seem to be talked about in this thread are keyboard scanners (where the keyboad cable is a Y and both plug into it so yes it is just keyboard input) My question is I have a serial scanner so I can read in from the port but how do I stuff that into the keyboard buffer????? My other post::: What I'm trying to do is write an app that reads in from the serial port and then output to the keyboard buffer (basically I need it to output to whatever application is foreground, I am using a serial scanner to output to a different app ) I have a app that I made that checks the comm ports but I am lost when it comes to the output any help would be great Thanks Quote
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.