AcidicChip Posted December 27, 2002 Posted December 27, 2002 I made a program in vb.NET (My first one in vb.NET)... I'm finally finished, and I wanted to test it on my other box. When I copy my /bin folder to my other box, and I run the program, I get an error saying "You do not have a license to use this ActiveX control.". I have the .NET Framework installed and everything. I went to Microsoft's site, and from what I understand, that means that the information for the ActiveX control isn't found in the registry. I need to know how to find out what registry information I need to have, so I can add it to the registry of my other box... Or if that is even what needs to be done. Let me know, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks! Here is the additional information in the text box at the bottom of the JIT... See the end of this message for details on invoking just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box. ************** Exception Text ************** System.ComponentModel.LicenseException: You do not have a license to use this ActiveX control. at System.Windows.Forms.AxHost.CreateInstance() at System.Windows.Forms.AxHost.GetOcxCreate() at System.Windows.Forms.AxHost.TransitionUpTo(Int32 state) at System.Windows.Forms.AxHost.CreateHandle() at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl(Boolean fIgnoreVisible) at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl() at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnVisibleChanged(EventArgs e) at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnParentVisibleChanged(EventArgs e) at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnVisibleChanged(EventArgs e) at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.OnVisibleChanged(EventArgs e) at System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnVisibleChanged(EventArgs e) at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmShowWindow(Message& m) at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m) at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m) at System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl.WndProc(Message& m) at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WmShowWindow(Message& m) at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WndProc(Message& m) at System.Windows.Forms.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m) at System.Windows.Forms.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m) at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam) ************** Loaded Assemblies ************** mscorlib Assembly Version: 1.0.3300.0 Win32 Version: 1.0.3705.288 CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/microsoft.net/framework/v1.0.3705/mscorlib.dll ---------------------------------------- My Program Assembly Version: 1.0.1091.19017 Win32 Version: 1.0.1091.19017 CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/My%20Program/My%20Program.exe ---------------------------------------- System.Windows.Forms Assembly Version: 1.0.3300.0 Win32 Version: 1.0.3705.288 CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.windows.forms/1.0.3300.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.windows.forms.dll ---------------------------------------- System Assembly Version: 1.0.3300.0 Win32 Version: 1.0.3705.288 CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system/1.0.3300.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.dll ---------------------------------------- Microsoft.VisualBasic Assembly Version: 7.0.3300.0 Win32 Version: 7.00.9502 CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/microsoft.visualbasic/7.0.3300.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/microsoft.visualbasic.dll ---------------------------------------- System.Drawing Assembly Version: 1.0.3300.0 Win32 Version: 1.0.3705.288 CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.drawing/1.0.3300.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/system.drawing.dll ---------------------------------------- System.Data Assembly Version: 1.0.3300.0 Win32 Version: 1.0.3705.288 CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.data/1.0.3300.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.data.dll ---------------------------------------- System.Xml Assembly Version: 1.0.3300.0 Win32 Version: 1.0.3705.288 CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.xml/1.0.3300.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.xml.dll ---------------------------------------- AxInterop.ComctlLib Assembly Version: 1.3.0.0 Win32 Version: 1.3.0.0 CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/My%20Program/AxInterop.ComctlLib.DLL ---------------------------------------- AxInterop.MSWinsockLib Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0 Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0 CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/My%20Program/AxInterop.MSWinsockLib.DLL ---------------------------------------- AxInterop.InetCtlsObjects Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0 Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0 CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/My%20Program/AxInterop.InetCtlsObjects.DLL ---------------------------------------- Interop.ComctlLib Assembly Version: 1.3.0.0 Win32 Version: 1.3.0.0 CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/My%20Program/Interop.ComctlLib.DLL ---------------------------------------- Interop.InetCtlsObjects Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0 Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0 CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/My%20Program/Interop.InetCtlsObjects.DLL ---------------------------------------- Interop.MSWinsockLib Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0 Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0 CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/My%20Program/Interop.MSWinsockLib.DLL ---------------------------------------- ************** JIT Debugging ************** To enable just in time (JIT) debugging, the config file for this application or machine (machine.config) must have the jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section. The application must also be compiled with debugging enabled. For example: <configuration> <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" /> </configuration> When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the machine rather than being handled by this dialog. Quote
AcidicChip Posted December 27, 2002 Author Posted December 27, 2002 Here is the list of References that show in the Visual Studio, incase you need that information: References: *AxInterop.ComctlLib *AxInterop.InetCtlsObjects *AxInterop.MSComctlLib *AxInterop.MSMask *AxInterop.MSWinsockLib *Interop.ComctlLib *Interop.InetCtlsObjects *Interop.MSComctlLib *Interop.MSMask *Interop.MSWinsockLib *stdole *System *System.Configuration.Install *System.Data *System.DirectoryServices *System.Drawing *System.Management *System.Messaging *System.Windows.Forms *System.Xml Quote
AcidicChip Posted December 27, 2002 Author Posted December 27, 2002 I went ahead and hit continue on the JIT, and then when my program loaded I started hitting buttons... Everything worked, then I hit a certain button and the JIT came up displaying this... See the end of this message for details on invoking just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box. ************** Exception Text ************** Cannot invoke property get of 'CtlState' at this time. ************** Loaded Assemblies ************** mscorlib Assembly Version: 1.0.3300.0 Win32 Version: 1.0.3705.288 CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/microsoft.net/framework/v1.0.3705/mscorlib.dll ---------------------------------------- IP Bulker 2.0 Assembly Version: 2.0.1091.24665 Win32 Version: 2.0.1091.24665 CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/My%20Program/My%20Program.exe ---------------------------------------- System.Windows.Forms Assembly Version: 1.0.3300.0 Win32 Version: 1.0.3705.288 CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.windows.forms/1.0.3300.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.windows.forms.dll ---------------------------------------- System Assembly Version: 1.0.3300.0 Win32 Version: 1.0.3705.288 CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system/1.0.3300.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.dll ---------------------------------------- Microsoft.VisualBasic Assembly Version: 7.0.3300.0 Win32 Version: 7.00.9502 CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/microsoft.visualbasic/7.0.3300.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/microsoft.visualbasic.dll ---------------------------------------- System.Drawing Assembly Version: 1.0.3300.0 Win32 Version: 1.0.3705.288 CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.drawing/1.0.3300.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/system.drawing.dll ---------------------------------------- System.Data Assembly Version: 1.0.3300.0 Win32 Version: 1.0.3705.288 CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.data/1.0.3300.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.data.dll ---------------------------------------- System.Xml Assembly Version: 1.0.3300.0 Win32 Version: 1.0.3705.288 CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.xml/1.0.3300.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.xml.dll ---------------------------------------- AxInterop.ComctlLib Assembly Version: 1.3.0.0 Win32 Version: 1.3.0.0 CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/My%20Program/AxInterop.ComctlLib.DLL ---------------------------------------- AxInterop.MSWinsockLib Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0 Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0 CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/My%20Program/AxInterop.MSWinsockLib.DLL ---------------------------------------- AxInterop.InetCtlsObjects Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0 Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0 CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/My%20Program/AxInterop.InetCtlsObjects.DLL ---------------------------------------- Interop.ComctlLib Assembly Version: 1.3.0.0 Win32 Version: 1.3.0.0 CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/My%20Program/Interop.ComctlLib.DLL ---------------------------------------- Interop.InetCtlsObjects Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0 Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0 CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/My%20Program/Interop.InetCtlsObjects.DLL ---------------------------------------- Interop.MSWinsockLib Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0 Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0 CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/My%20Program/Interop.MSWinsockLib.DLL ---------------------------------------- Accessibility Assembly Version: 1.0.3300.0 Win32 Version: 1.0.3705.0 CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/accessibility/1.0.3300.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/accessibility.dll ---------------------------------------- ************** JIT Debugging ************** To enable just in time (JIT) debugging, the config file for this application or machine (machine.config) must have the jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section. The application must also be compiled with debugging enabled. For example: <configuration> <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" /> </configuration> When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the machine rather than being handled by this dialog. Quote
*Gurus* divil Posted December 28, 2002 *Gurus* Posted December 28, 2002 You shouldn't be using those ActiveX controls, period. You don't get a license to use them with Visual Studio.NET. Having said that, if the ocx controls are installed AND registered on the target machine, it should work. Quote MVP, Visual Developer - .NET Now you see why evil will always triumph - because good is dumb. My free .NET Windows Forms Controls and Articles
AcidicChip Posted December 28, 2002 Author Posted December 28, 2002 So then it'z an OCX that my program is using that the other box doesn't have registered... Okay, thanks. Quote
AcidicChip Posted December 28, 2002 Author Posted December 28, 2002 So, anyone able to tell me how to fix this problem? Quote
*Gurus* divil Posted December 28, 2002 *Gurus* Posted December 28, 2002 I thought you knew that you have to register your controls before they'll work. If anyone else can offer any suggestions they will, you don't have to repeat yourself. Quote MVP, Visual Developer - .NET Now you see why evil will always triumph - because good is dumb. My free .NET Windows Forms Controls and Articles
AcidicChip Posted December 29, 2002 Author Posted December 29, 2002 regsrv32, right? How do I find out what the ActiveX is? Like which file it's trying to use, etc.? Quote
*Gurus* divil Posted December 29, 2002 *Gurus* Posted December 29, 2002 In the customize toolbox window, under COM components, it shows where the ocx is. Yes, you have to use regsvr32 to register it on the target machine. Quote MVP, Visual Developer - .NET Now you see why evil will always triumph - because good is dumb. My free .NET Windows Forms Controls and Articles
AcidicChip Posted December 29, 2002 Author Posted December 29, 2002 Is it every one of those in the COM components I have to include when I distribute the program? Or is there a way to tell which one of those it is I need to use? I have Install Shield Developer, and I had it do a dynamic dependancy scan, and even after that it seemed not to work on other boxes. Quote
*Gurus* divil Posted December 30, 2002 *Gurus* Posted December 30, 2002 You only need to include those that are checked. There's a possiblity that your app might have ones in that aren't checked in the list, in which case you'll just have to find them yourself. It might tell you under the referenced section in solution explorer. I'll say it again though, you should NOT be using those activex controls in a .NET application. Quote MVP, Visual Developer - .NET Now you see why evil will always triumph - because good is dumb. My free .NET Windows Forms Controls and Articles
AcidicChip Posted December 30, 2002 Author Posted December 30, 2002 Well, my refrences are posted above... Tell me how to find out what activex references are being used, and I'll remove them, and find another way to do what ever it was with the activex. Quote
*Gurus* divil Posted December 30, 2002 *Gurus* Posted December 30, 2002 Ok. It looks like you have a reference to the ActiveX common controls, which is pointless because all the common controls have .NET replacements in the toolbox by default. You also have a reference to the Winsock control, which you shouldn't be using either. You should learn the .NET Socket or TcpClient class instead. Lastly, it appears you're using the INet control. There is no direct replacement for its FTP functionality, but there is a code snippet for how to download data from an HTTP server posted on this board somewhere. Quote MVP, Visual Developer - .NET Now you see why evil will always triumph - because good is dumb. My free .NET Windows Forms Controls and Articles
AcidicChip Posted December 30, 2002 Author Posted December 30, 2002 The problem is AxMSWinsockLib.AxWinsock() ... How would I get it to license? I'm a vb.NET retard, so your help has been VERY useful, and I appreciate your time. Thanks. Quote
*Gurus* divil Posted December 30, 2002 *Gurus* Posted December 30, 2002 I believe there was a licensing issue with that control that was solved in a service pack. Since you only have that control because you have a visual studio 6 product, I suggest you download and install the latest service pack for that (5) and then ship that control with your application. Once that is registered, hopefully your licensing problem will be resolved. If it isn't, I'm afraid I'm out of ideas... Quote MVP, Visual Developer - .NET Now you see why evil will always triumph - because good is dumb. My free .NET Windows Forms Controls and Articles
*Experts* Volte Posted December 30, 2002 *Experts* Posted December 30, 2002 (edited) Don't use the Winsock control. The best way is to write your own class using the System.Sockets class (look in your MSDN for more). You can probably get tons of premade classes for winsock, too, on places such as PlanetSourceCode. I personally don't like PlanetSourceCode, but a class you'll get there is probably better that using the Winsock control. If you can avoid it, try not using any ActiveX controls at all (unless there are no good alternatives, such as is the case with the CodeSense control). [edit]I realize this may not be an option currently, and sorry if that is the case, I will be of no help, but in the future try not to use the Winsock control[/edit] Edited December 30, 2002 by Volte Quote
Badblock Posted May 27, 2003 Posted May 27, 2003 Hi! I'm trying to use a MSFlexGrid control in my VB.NET project but when I try to use it I get a message: "You do not have a license to use this ActiveX control" divil says: "It looks like you have a reference to the ActiveX common controls, which is pointless because all the common controls have .NET replacements in the toolbox by default." Then my question is : What control has replaced the FlexGrid control in .NET ?? I can't find one ! Is there another control i can use that can do the same as the FlexGrid contol ? HELP ME !! regards Peter Quote
*Gurus* divil Posted May 27, 2003 *Gurus* Posted May 27, 2003 You're right, there is no Flexgrid replacement in .NET. Sometimes you might be able to use a datagrid in place. I hear there is a good .NET flexgrid at http://www.componentone.com . Quote MVP, Visual Developer - .NET Now you see why evil will always triumph - because good is dumb. My free .NET Windows Forms Controls and Articles
Wasabi Posted June 20, 2003 Posted June 20, 2003 I am having this problem as well. (An Active X error when I launch my program on the client computer.). I am not using the FlexGrid control, but I am using the Masked Edit control - is that an Active X control? I've never used it before, but I couldn't find a .Net replacement for what it does, and everywhere I read online said that it is still the best control for what it does. I don't remember activating, or running regsvr32 on anything on my Development system.. This is what is confusing me on this issue.. I'm struggling to find if I need to or not.. On my client system I've got XP SP1 (which has MDAC 2.7 in it) and .Net Framework 1.0 and 1.1 as well as the 1.1 Redist from SDK (just to be sure it's all there!) I don't get the error on the main form window of my application.. (VB.NET, Window Form) But on the second form I get the JIT error... My second form has the Masked Edit controls, so is that my best guess? Is there a license issue with this that I need to purchase to redistribute? Quote
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.