Windows Service How To????

Inferno122

Newcomer
I'm kinda new to vb.net programming and i'm currently getting my feet wet :)

My situation is this: I needed to create a windows service that is user-interactive and I managed to create one. When I start the service, a notify icon appears in the system tray area and the context menus are accessible. Everything works well except for a few problems:

1. The service is run by the system automatically,if I start the service manually, it interacts, but when I log-off and log-on again, it doesn't.
2. The service is supposed to ID the user currently logged and I have tried using all variations of retrieving the current user name but the service always returns "Local System" as the current user :(

There is a forum somewhere that I came across telling that the notify icon should be placed in a WinForms project not belonging the service project. I tried doing this by creating a project group but I can't seem to make the service refference the WinForms project :(

Can anybody help me with this??? I only have 2wks to work on this project so please help!!!

You always get LocalSystem as the current user because that's
the account specified to run your service in the Log On tab of the service's property page accessed via the Administrative Tools > Services utility app.

You should follow the reco to make the notify icon (w/c is also your service controller app) a separate windows app from the service app itself because Windows Services are not supposed to have UI code in them. You don't have to set a reference to the service project. Use the ServiceController class to control your service from your notify icon app.

JABE said:
You always get LocalSystem as the current user because that's
the account specified to run your service in the Log On tab of the service's property page accessed via the Administrative Tools > Services utility app.