Web Server General Question

bri189a

Senior Contributor
I'm a newbie when it comes to web services.

A web service is basically a function sitting on remote server right? How does access permissions work and advertisement to others?

So an example of a good web service (good as in a good reason to use versus writing your own function) would be one that accepts a bitmap in it's parameters and returns a image of type x where you choose x by other parameters such as xType and other parameters such as dpi, size, color changes (like make it sepia, b&w, poloarized, etc). I don't know how much work this would be in GDI+, but I know I wouldn't want to tackle it for a sole use application; I'd want a library someone else made and save myself a few hours of research. And on that would you be able to make like enum's and stuff available through a service? Such as in the example above the return type parameter could be of type FileTypeEnum containing, BMP, JPG, GIF, TIF, PNG, etc.? I wouldn't think so, but at the same time I would think there would be a way to pass parameter as return values other than the built in types of .NET (string, int, char, object, DateTime, Point, etc.)

But with a web service you are limited to certain things; you obviously couldn't have something that rely's on information from the user's network or file system; and I mean that by you could have a function that returns the number of files on the user's computer, or the number of computer's on a user's network because the server would be blind to that information unless the user sent it to the service; in which case the service wouldn't be needed because the user did all the hard work.

So do I have the general idea? Or is there more to it?

For something like creating a bitmap you would probably be better of with a normal classlibrary - returning large bitmaps via the internet could be a major performance bottleneck.