wcClient.DownloadFile (access denied)

Drstein99

Junior Contributor
I want to make an application which downloads files right to a location on "c:\test\pushFilesHere\" directory.

When I command:

Dim wcClient As System.Net.WebClient
wcClient = New System.Net.WebClient
wcClient.DownloadFile(sURL, "C:\tEST\PUSHFILESHERE\$TEMP.TXT")

---

it returns "FILE ACCESS DENIED".

How can I copy files directly to a client p/c, and avoid this ?

I dont know anything about user permission issues, can you please elaborate and / or provide links or documents for me to get simple started in this? I am NEW to asp.net, but a very verced database programmer.

I really dont have any links but I'm sure you can find stuff on google..

I was doing some CrystalReport and .net and asked someone and was told about permissions...

The thread is somewhere here and someone had a very good explanation..

Add the "ASPNET" user (in Microsoft Windows 2000/XP) to the ACL of the file or directory, granting permissions as need be (read/write/modify/delete). In Microsoft Windows Server 2003 you'll need to add permissions using the identity under which the application pool is running for the ASP.NET application in question.

I learned some things about granting permissions:

Dim fileIOPerm1 As System.Security.Permissions.FileIOPermission
fileIOPerm1.AllLocalFiles = System.Security.Permissions.FileIOPermissionAccess.AllAccess

------------

Now i can save a test bitmap:

dim b as bitmap = nothing

b = New Bitmap(100, 100)
b.Save(filename)

-------------
but when i do the download command:

wcClient.DownloadFile("http://localhost\upload3\myfilename.txt", "C:\examples\test\$test.txt")

it will report:

"URI formats are not supported."