VB Upgrade Wizard

CvMarty

Newcomer
Hello,
I am new in VB.NET although I have a 5 year experience with vb4,5&6. I am still playing around because I find .net very difficult and changed so I can rely my job on it yet.
I tried the upgrade wizard to upgrade my project to .net and it was a complete disaster... I have two questions.

Was the upgrade wizard upgraded with the first service pack of the .net framework ?

Is it a fact that the upgrade wizard does not upgrade user controls ? (they do not load them on the forms). Does anybody know if this will be upgraded sometime ? Must I wait until this ?

If I decide to upgrade my program to .net with existing components and upgrade wizard, I will need at least 8 months to make it work (not mention to debug it and learn everything needed and languages differences)

I have a program of 50 forms (20 of them are really complicated), using ADO and DAO in database utilities etc.....Is it a fact that the upgrade wizard does not upgrade user controls

Yes, it is a fact. Also, anyone you ask who knows what they are talking about will advise you NOT to ever attempt to upgrade a project to .NET. It isn't worth it.

For small-scale applications, you should rewrite. For large-scale applications, you should keep them as they are.

It just isn't worth the hassle of having the upgrade wizard generate non-standard .net code (which it does) and having to track down potential bugs caused by this.

I have heard the upgrade wizard is significantly improved in the next version of Visual Studio .NET, however. Not that I believe it will be worth converting even then, but it might cope with your usercontrols better anyway :)

Well,
you said exactly what I wanted to hear ! Mean while, I will continue my projects on good old VB6 until I have more spare time to get learning .net.

The upgrade wizard, in my opinion, is a menace :)