Uploading High Scores to My Web Site

Klogg

Centurion
Hey guys! I just made an arcade-style game, and I am interested in having it upload high scores to my web site. The problem is, I have no prior experience with ASP, no idea how it works, and no idea where to start. So needless to say, I think I'm gonna need some help here.

Okay, there was my confusation (I know, not a real word... I think) in general question. Here's a specific one now. For me to use ASP.NET on my web site, does my web host have to allow it or something? Or is it possible to use it on any web site? If not, could I have my game compare the player's high score with the lowest high score on the Internet and send the new score to me by email if it is higher? I could then update it manually without too much work.

Well, I'd appreciate your help here. Thanks. And by the way, you should check out my game. And go ahead and check out my other games and programs while you're there, too. :)

Your host would have to have the ability to host ASP.Net - and allow you to use .Net.

For your situation, a good solution would be to make a web service that runs on your web host. You could post to it from your arcade app to 'upload' scored - and you could even have your web service provide feedback letting you know if the posted score was a new high or whatever. Or, you could hit the web service to obtain current high score data before you post. Either way, a web service is a good option because it let's you post and get a response easily.

I'd suggest checking out MSDN or google, or maybe even searching here to get started with a webservice and the relative code for "hitting" it from a winforms app. It's a bit involved to explain in it's entirety in one thread. Once you get something going and have specific questions I'm sure the experts here could help you with any problems you encounter.

Paul