Update Access DB from DataGrid

rangerstud620

Freshman
I'm trying to udpate an Access DB from a dropdownlist in a datagrid. When I click the Update button, I get the following error at the cmd.ExecuteNonQuery() line: "System.Data.OleDb.OleDbException: Expected query name after EXECUTE." I'm new to ASP.NET so maybe I'm way off course, but how do I fix this?

Visual Basic:
Private Sub UpdateRecord(ByVal source As Object, ByVal E As DataGridCommandEventArgs)

Dim di As DataGridItem
  Dim cmd As New OleDbCommand("UPDATE NewReport SET HEADING = @HeadingID, HEADNAME = @HeadingName WHERE ID = @Id", objConnection)
  Dim param As OleDbParameter

di = E.Item
  cmd.CommandType = CommandType.StoredProcedure

param = cmd.Parameters.Add("@HeadingID", OleDbType.Char)
  param.Value = DirectCast(di.FindControl("lstHeadings"), DropDownList).SelectedItem.Value

param = cmd.Parameters.Add("@HeadingName", OleDbType.Char)
  param.Value = DirectCast(di.FindControl("lstHeadings"), DropDownList).SelectedItem.Text

param = cmd.Parameters.Add("@Id", OleDbType.Integer)
  param.value = dgCompany.DataKeys(CInt(E.Item.ItemIndex))

cmd.Connection.Open()
  cmd.ExecuteNonQuery() 'Errors here
  dgCompany.EditItemIndex = -1
  cmd.Connection.Close()

LoadGrid()
End Sub

rangerstud620 said:
I'm trying to udpate an Access DB from a dropdownlist in a datagrid. When I click the Update button, I get the following error at the cmd.ExecuteNonQuery() line: "System.Data.OleDb.OleDbException: Expected query name after EXECUTE." I'm new to ASP.NET so maybe I'm way off course, but how do I fix this?

Visual Basic:
  'cmd.CommandType = CommandType.StoredProcedure
  'Use this instead:
  cmd.CommandType = CommandType.Text

Your not using a stored procedure, your using inline SQL (text).

bri189a said:
Your not using a stored procedure, your using inline SQL (text).

I changed that line of code and now I get the following error: "System.Data.OleDb.OleDbException: Operation must use an updateable query." Any ideas?