timer question...

lidds

Junior Contributor
As I am new to VB.net, would it be bad practice to have a time on my application to check a small database table every 10 mins? Would this slow performance on my application?

Cheers

Simon

By slowing performance what do u mean? Like if the application freezes for a couple of seconds? If thats a problem for u, u can have a timer start a seperate thread every 10 minutes.

What do you mean by start a seperate thread (sorry new to vb.net)?

The querying of the database would not take that long, probably 10secs.... but I really want to do this but without stoping other users from using the app.

Code:
'Declarations part of Form

Dim MyThread as System.Threading.Thread

Sub Timer1_Tick
MyThread=New System.Threading.Thread(Addressof TableCheck)
MyThread.Start 
end sub

Sub TableCheck() '<- Notice that u are not allowed to pass any parameters
'Do the check of the table here
end sub

Try to read some general info about threads in order to find what they are exactly. After you understand them, you will be able to manipulate them to fit your needs. Imagine a thread as running a separate 'subprogram' from withing your program (thats not too accurate but it helps to visualize it).
Like if u have Notepad and Paint open at the same time and paint is busy, notepad will not be affected. Thats because they are running on different threads. The same idea applies here(in an abstract kind of way)

Thanks for the help, am currently reading up on Thread, will be experimenting tonight with them.

I have another question as well, not exsacually related to the above, but thought as I got such a good and quick response I'll post it anyway.