The basics

matt09524

Freshman
I am new to C++ and .NET appication developement and have some very basic questions.

1. How do I make a linklabel work? I have seen some templates out there, but they fail to compile... apparently the templates are trying to use a sub class that is not defined and that provides all sorts of compilation failures. Anyone have good code including any classes I need to load up and how to do all that?

2. I've got this form all designed out... How do I make it so that when the button is clicked, the current form changes to the next step in the program? Also, with regards to this, how can I make it so that there is like a "return to beginning" button/link that will take them to the start of the program?

3. ... /duck and how do I get items that I have put in a drop down box to execute when the "GO" button is clicked?

I know this may seem very basic for you guys, but I learn this stuff by asking others questions and this is not related to my career job so I have no one to ask there. If replying, you can also feel free to e-mail me directly at matt09524@hotmail.com. But I think replying here would benefit the next newb :P

* I am using the MS Visual C++ Beta2.

Last edited:
In .NET you have event that will do all the thing you want. When you need to catch the button click, or the selected item of a combobox, etc

1) Imagine we have a link label with the name of linkLabel1. If you want to make an action when a user clicks the label you have to include the code of the event of clicking. To include the code automaticly, just go the design mode and double click on the label. If not here is the code

Code:
//Add this line in the void InitializeComponent(void) method
			this->linkLabel1->LinkClicked += new System::Windows::Forms::LinkLabelLinkClickedEventHandler(this, linkLabel1_LinkClicked);

//this should be next to the other MEthdos