Saving Information??

xcorp

Freshman
Hey guys.

I have a small problem. I'm a bit of a newb to Visual Basic and still havn't really got the jist of the language.

Anywho, I've been fooling around with programs of all different sorts and havn't been able to figure out how to save data.

For instance... My parents, who are very successfull programmers and make Payroll programs for a living. Of course in creating these programs your going to have to save the data for the user.

I've been asking them for a long time but they're used to about 10 or 15 different languages. They're old dos people.

I havn't been able to figure out how to save data in Visual Basic.
If you still havn't totally understood my question I'll lay out an example.

For instance I was thinking of creating a "Clan Oraniser" program for games like Counter-Strike. It would come in handy in handling your members, and important information such as "Wonid" wich enables them administrator access to our "Server" or map we're currently playing.

How would I save that? I'd need to save "Name, Location, Email, Wonid" and a bunch of other essencial information. I think it would envolve creating a text file such as.. "info.txt" or somethen like that...

I can't figure out how to do this...

Although I'm no dumbass, I'm 13 years old, so please... Don't go into sockets and the such - It's all greek to me.

Any help would be appriciated!!

Look into using databases. Look for your MSDN for information about using ADO.NET.

Although I'm no dumbass, I'm 13 years old, so please... Don't go into sockets and the such - It's all greek to me.
Age and skill/ability to learn are completely unrelated. :rolleyes:

lol Thanks...

And I know about the ability to learn stuff. lol

It's just most of the "Senior Contributor" people are adults and understand the complicated words. lol....

I meant to "Take it easy"

Thanks Volteface!

Umm...

Well I'm not entirly sure - I just wanna save a bit of imformation. about a user.