Referencing controls created at runtime VB

jch001

Newcomer
I’m fairly new to VB .NET, and I’m stuck on the following problem:

I added a load of controls at runtime from code. Depending on the values in a table, I have a loop which creates a tab page and a button (and other controls on the tab page) at runtime.
I named each button/object with the number of the tab page created e.g. btnDel6 (for the xth Tab Page created e.g. btnDel(x).Name = "btnDelete" & x.ToString ).

I have bound the button to an event handler which works fine. This button will delete the Tab page and the related record in the table. However, I have hit a snag.
I need to reference another control I created on this tab page which stores my database information i.e. the primary key to be used when calling my stored procedure.

I thought it would simply be Me(“Control” & x.ToString).text

However, I get an error saying Me “cannot be indexed because it has no default property”. Its got me stumped, I’m sure there is an easy answer, I used to do similar things in VBA.

Thanks for any help.

Last edited:
Is it just my imagination or do clumps of the same question keep turning up at the same time? Assuming I'm understanding your question, you simply wish to access a control that was created at runtime, by using a string which represents its name. If this is the case then a search of the forums will find multiple answers to this question. To get you off the mark, the simplest solution is to loop through the controls (using recursion if you have container controls) and comparing the name of the control to your string untill you find it.

Thanks. Believe me I have been searching the web etc. Its one of those brain freeze moments which I just can't seem to get over. I must be typing in the wrong search criteria.

Ok some more info. I loop through as you describe

' Enumerate through form's controls looking for one by name:

For Each ctrl In Me.Controls
If TypeOf ctrl Is ComboBox Then