questions about paths

Hammy

Freshman
Hi all,

I am new to VB and am working through some vb.net exercises. I some of them I place a picturebox control on my form, then with various events set theimage using system.drawing.image.fromfile method. When using this method, they have me place a hard-coded path to the images.

My head got to thinking, when I build a deployment solution for these projects down the road, if these images have a hard coded path, is it not going to cause errors unless the user were to install the application in the EXACT same location as my working solution? I may be jumping the gun and this will end up being covered, but I am the type that likes to find solutions when I see a potential problem.

I was playing around with setting the path to something like (Application.StartupPath & "\images\image.bmp") for example. Thinking that when I create the deployment I would be sure to include tohe images and create an image directory in the deployment setup.

What is the best way to code the path for these types of images so they will still be displayed after deployment regardless of the user's installation choices? Is this method I am playing around with a good one?

TIA
Hammy

Application.StartupPath gets the start up path value in the short cut file if you launch it with a shortcut this could mean you'd be look in a directory anywhere on the harddrive.

Try creating a simple program that just shows a messagebox telling you the startup path, create a shortcut to it and change the Startup Path Property in the shortcut to anywhere else and see what the program says.

I did as you said, and changed the "start in" property (left the target the same) and the msgbox still displayed the proper path the .exe file was in.

If I run the program directly (not using a shortcut) it still displays the proper path. If I move the program to a new folder, it still displays the proper path.