Question about a minesweeper game

Rubik

Newcomer
Hey guys, I'm having a few problems trying to make this. I'm trying to make a minesweeper type game for a class project and my teacher really isn't helping me out at all, so I'm helping I can get advice from some of you guys. Now I'm not a excellent programmer but I know a moderate amount of things for VB, but not enough to help me with this.

For my game so far I actually created the form to look like the original minesweeper and also created 81 buttons, which I'm sure was a stupid idea. To tell you the truth though, I have absolutely NO idea what to do, I'm lost. I've been doing research and trying to find minesweeper games online to see how the code works, but when I do and look at it, none if it makes sense to me one bit.

I don't want someone to just hand me code, but it would be super helpful if I could get pointed in the correct direction on how to start it and maybe some good and bad ways to go about things.

Thanks,
Nate

Well, as far as the 81 button go, no, putting them on the form in the designer is not the best approach. The biggest problem is that it isn't even slightly dynamic. At the very least, you need to be able to refer to the buttons by their coordinate. Ideally, you want to be able to create as many as you need to let the user select different field sizes, but that's up to you. One other thing I think I should point out is that while you can use buttons, a more typical approach would be to draw the minefield yourself using a set of images that represents each possible state for a single grid square (flagged, empty, with a digit from 1 to 8, ect.). Again, up to you.