Problem with form instances (C#, CF.Net and VS2005)

mjohnson3091

Freshman
Hi all,

First of all let me say that i'm a real novice with VS2005 and mobile apps.

I've got a real problem with an application in VS2005 for Compact Framework 2 on a device running PocketPC2003.

I'll try to explain the problem....

I have a number of forms that "communicate" to a backend server through a single form (I'll call it Main for identification purposes). These other forms could be menus or function screens. On creation of each form, I create an instance member for that form and for the main form as follows:

Code:
        //current instance of main form - for comms
        frmMain frmMainFormInstance; 

//current instance of this form - for comms
        private static frmMenu InspInstance = null;

public static frmMenu Instance()
        {
            if (InspInstance == null)
            {
                InspInstance = new frmMenu ();
            }
            return InspInstance;
        }

I have a public routines in Main that will send and receive data and can be called from each other form using the instance of Main. So i can send data as below.

Code:
private void SendMessage(string strField, string strData)
        {

frmMainFormInstance.SendData(
                strField + "" + Globals.cstFieldDelimiter + strData);
        }

When a response to a send is received in main, it sends the data back to the public "ReadMessage" routine on the relevent form as follows:

Code:
frmMenuInstance = frmMenu .Instance();
frmMenuInstance .ReadMessage(strField, strResult, strData);

So far all this works fine......