Password Protecting an App (Multiple User Accts)?

Disasterpiece

Freshman
Hi All,

I'm fairly new to VB .NET, and I have to do a semester project for my VB class.

Now, what I want to do is create a program that keeps track of a checking account. The program will show transactions made, update the balance, etc. etc.

I know how to do the bulk of the program, but another thing I would like to do is to have user logins. When the app first runs I would like it to have the option to Login or Create New User. Now what I'm a little confused about is how do I actually do this? I would guess that I could either
a) Save the list of users/pw's in a text file on the hard drive, but security becomes an issue here
b) Somehow protect the database that I will be storing data into.

I also don't really know how I would do the syntax for passwords either. Could anyone give me a little help please?

Muchas gracias.
Disasterpiece

If its for a project use a Access Database, Make it password protected

Create a user table with Names, Passwords

When user loads program prompt for username & password check values against database if exists run program

Andy

Thanks, I'll look into the syntax for doing that.

Unless you want to post it here... :)

I understand how to create the database, and I understand how to write a program, I just haven't learned how to make them work together yet :confused: