Newbe DirectX Questions

ROB_GP

Newcomer
Hi Everyone,

I've looking through these threads and it seems like theres some pretty complex 3D stuff out around so I thought I'd aska few simple questions.

Firstly, I have no experience using DirectX, but am a fairly reasonable programmer, so I think I should pick it up quite quickly, but before I bother I want to just make sure it will be able to do the things I want.

I'm interested in building an application that uses real-world data as a source for heights, so that one can roam around a virtual representation of a real place.

So heres the questions:

1. Is it simple to supply a raster image (like a tiff or bmp) and create a height model based on its pixel values?

2. is it possible to supply a cartesian coordinate system to a 3d model?

3. would it be possible input a series a points and display them either as points or a joined line between the points?

4. Would it be feasible to be able to feed a real time data input (like a GPS feed) and have the 3D scene update for every new input?

and finally....

5. is it possible to make an animation follow a set track across a 3D plane?

Thats all for now

Thanks for the help Guys (& Girls :D )

Rob GP

1) dont know
2) yes, you can do left and right handed
3) yes, i think its called a linelist or something O_O
4) dont understand, but if you mean, get input from the user and change the position of something, then yes
5)im prettty sure you can

lol, sorry for being breif, :) i gotta go somewhre now

replying to #1, you could use a displacement map. this'd require hardware support (DirectX 9 video cards only)

or eventually if you can't accomplish that, you could just go around a dense plane and go setting the vertex's heights one by one based on the pixel color of the image at that correspondent point. like parsing the image to the vertex buffer manually

Last edited:
Thanks for the replys...