New to Visual C++ .NET

irtaza

Newcomer
Hey all. Im a C++ Coder looking to get into creating GUI apps. Im looking to try out Visual C++ .NET and dont know where to start. Any links/sites that could help me start to create GUI apps in Visual C++ .NET would be much appreciated. :D

Thanks

Come on, there must be someone with a few links or atleast someone who knows some books for me :P

Jesus Christ, programmers are so impatient. You think 1 day is bad? There's one forum in which my post is the newest post in the topic...and it's 4 months old!

Anyway, switch over to C#, you'll be doing yourself a favor.

There are tons or resources on this site for books and tutorials. Try searching around and check on the web. I've heard google is an ok search engine...

C++ .Net is drag and drop. It's really quite easy. Not nearly as hard as MFC.

Diesel said:
Prove it.
Simply put, C++/CLI has everything that C# has, and it has everything that C++ has. So why every use C#? Because it is so much easier than C++/CLI since it is designed specifically for .Net. Or because there is more support for C# programmers.

"Powerful?" What does that mean? Good performance? Arguably, I'd say C++/CLI wins. More flexible? C++/CLI wins, and by a larger margin on that one. Does that make it the right choice? Most .Net programmers would say no as it seems in my experience. C# shines as far as RAD goes, and that's a powerful feature, one which is at the heart of .Net.

Ultimately, I don't think something so subjective can be proven.

C++/CLI is actually as easy as C#.
If you still want to do all the old hair-raising unmanaged stuff, then fine - that's where the complication lies.
If you want to approach C++/CLI as an alternative .NET language, but plan on writing well-behaved managed code, then it is certainly not tough.