New install / debugging help

Drstein99

Junior Contributor
I've been writing an application for about 8 months now and installing on new computer for first time.

I made the deployment setup as the help files explain. The computer can successfully run small little applications i've build, has all framework and mdac loaded (because it runs small crystal report applications that attach to mySQL using odbc)

When i double-click the .exe the application runs, i get an hour glass and it sit in stasis. i have to end the task to get the computer to do anything else (like run uninstall from control panel)

Is there a .log or something i can check, or any type of degug thing here I can go troubleshoot this miserable thing?

I've re/created the setup application, re/created the solution from scratch added the project. With same failure results.

When I add a new setup wizard to the solution I get this dialog at the end:

"The following files may have dependencies that cannot be determined automatically. Please confirm that all dependencies have been added to the project."

(lists a bunch of .ocx and .dll's)

Now what must i do? I see that the dependency files are in the list.

Ok, i removed bitmaps, and animating bitmaps. The whole application runs much faster.

This disappoints me. In visual basic 6 these same procedures I'm doing now in .net on the same machine would run much faster and more efficiently.

----------------------
The following are opinionated thoughts:
---------------------

The .net framework definately puts a burden to cpu processing time and memory. It is obviosly geared towards newer and powerful machines. Everyone must understand that when developing applications for older machines in companies where you may be hired to replace antique softare but replacing hardware on hundreds of workstations is out of the question.