.NET game programming with DirectX 9.0

ThePentiumGuy

Senior Contributor
is the book .NET Game Programming with DirectX 9.0
any good for beginners. It is for VB.NET and im just wondering if it would be of any use to me because i'm a beginner in DirectX,, it looks good, I've read many reviews saying,

"This book was too easy, I expected them to say something about Direct3d, but they only touched on it":

For me, that sounds good, But for all of you advanced programmers, that makes the book sound bad.

I just need some Opinions/Reviews and how easy is this book: The URL is below

http://apress.com/book/bookDisplay.html?bID=111

My Dear Remeber one thing . with in a home user environment games are always developed in very short stetegy. you dont need to access all DX9 Features. I have Boox "Insid Direct X programming " from MSPRESS and thats too much difficult to understand for a new user and the book you have quoted here i lloking file.This book would be very useful for you. but it is also better if you download the DX9 SDK. and other reference meterial. VB.NET also greate to work with DX.

ThePentiumGuy: I'm getting this tomorrow and will be posting my first impression on it a a complete newbie to directX.

OK....the book..

I've been reading it all day and so far am pleased with my purchase. It is not in the format that I normally like books in, such as the SAMS Teach Yourself series, but nontheless I'm learning.

Whizzing through just to whet my appetite there is plenty of learning ahead. It comes with a CD that has all the source included for the games that the reader will write on the way.

I do like the approach the book takes to teach you how to analyize the game requirements prior to coding, which will also be useful in my other programming as I always code on the fly.

I have also found that it's good to read a bit then sit down and code the examples and break it into bits, modify bits to see the effect and thus learn exactly what is going on.