Menual Array Sort

Widunder

Newcomer
Hello Everyone,
Im new to VB .NET, and im working on an application where the user types the lap times in and then the program has to store this data into array everytime the button is clicked. Now, I can do that, but what I can't do is to then menually sort them out, so that the fastest will be at the top and display them as a list in a label. With no built-in functions. Can anyone please post an example of how this is possible. Thanks.

If you can't use any of the built in functions you are probably best searching the internet for the Quick Sort algorithm, you should find plenty of examples and it is a pretty easy to implement solution to the problem.

Ok, I found the code but now I have another problem. I don't know how to call the FastestSort method, anything I do it comes up with an error:
Value of type 'System.Web.UI.WebControls.ListBox' cannot be converted to '1-dimensional array of Integer'.

The code:

Code:
Partial Public Class _Default
    Inherits System.Web.UI.Page

Private min As Integer
    Private max As Integer

Public Shared Sub FastestSort(ByVal lbList() As Integer, ByVal min As Integer, ByVal max As Integer)
        Dim random_number As New Random
        Dim avg As Integer
        Dim i As Integer
        Dim low As Integer
        Dim high As Integer

'if minimum is >= max, then there is nothing to sort
        If min >= max Then Exit Sub

' randomize i to select a random number as a starter and use it as a divider
        i = random_number.Next(min, max + 1)
        avg = lbList(i)

' Swap it to the front.
        lbList(i) = lbList(min)

low = min
        high = max

Do
            ' Look down from hi for a value < med_value.
            Do While lbList(high) >= avg
                high = high - 1
                If high <= low Then Exit Do
            Loop
            If high <= low Then
                lbList(low) = avg
                Exit Do
            End If
            ' Swap the lo and hi values.