Matrices more and more

AHMED3D

Newcomer
Hi there, I am very new to Direct3D but I am willing to learn it and i like it despite i'm facing trouble in matrices (the whole thing) I just need help!!
I understand matrices as math and also i got the coordinates thing in Direct3D but i can't find a resource where i can learn how to use matrices in Direct3D programming.
I want to make simple (i think) thing which is:

I load a gamefield mesh then i load a number of boxes then i want to move these boxes and (also) i want to move the camera throughout the game field.:)

I learnt how to load meshes but i need to put them in specefic places on the gamefield, so i know that i must assign a matrix to each object Right?? then how?? can anybody explain??

Also when i try to make the camera move i get: strafe right and left and move ahead and back but how can i rotate it and not mess with the coordinates??

thanks in advance:)

ok, here's the camera part, took me a while to understand it myself so if you have questions feel free to ask. I have this in it's own Class (Camera) and I haven't made it look up and down yet:

Visual Basic:
    Public xPos, yPos, zPos, xView, yView, zView, xUp, yUp, zUp, xStrafe, yStrafe, zStrafe As Single

Public Sub New(ByVal x As Single, ByVal y As Single, ByVal z As Single, _
                    ByVal xV As Single, ByVal yV As Single, ByVal zV As Single, _
                    ByVal xU As Single, ByVal yU As Single, ByVal zU As Single)
        xPos = x
        yPos = y
        zPos = z
        xView = xV
        yView = yV
        zView = zV
        xUp = xU
        yUp = yU
        zUp = zU
    End Sub

Private Sub UpdateCamera(ByVal xdir As Single, ByVal zdir As Single, ByVal dir As Single)
        xPos += xdir * dir
        zPos += zdir * dir

xView += xdir * dir
        zView += zdir * dir
    End Sub

Public Sub MoveCamera(ByVal amount As Single) 'Amount will be Negative for moving backwards