Managed DirectDraw: Negative values for DrawFast()

pseud0

Newcomer
Ok, So I'm new to DirectDraw. Been working a lot with GapiDraw (for PocketPC) previously. With Gapi you can use DrawFast on a surface with negative values if you've set a clipper to the surface, but when I use negative X and Y coords for the DDraw DrawFast it's a crash and burn. How do I get around this?

Example:
Code:
private void InizializeDirectDraw() {[INDENT]...
device = new Device();
primarySurface = new Surface( desc, device );
clipper = new Clipper( device );
clipper.Window = this;
primarySurface.Clipper = clipper;
// draw a new blue (default it seems) bitmap
imageSurface = new Surface( new Bitmap(100,100), desc, device );
[/INDENT]
}
// called every 30 ms from a timer
private void Render() {[INDENT]...
[COLOR=Red]secondarySurface.DrawFast( 0, 0, imageSurface, DrawFastFlags.Wait );[/COLOR]
[/INDENT]
}
Now... If I change the secondarySurface.DrawFast(0, 0, imageSurface, DrawFastFlasgs.Wait); to say; secondarySurface.DrawFast(-10, -10, imageSurface, DrawFastFlasgs.Wait); then the program crashes on rendering the surface.

How do I get around this? Is there a problem with the clipper?
I'm happy for ANY help or suggestions. It seems hard to believe that noone has every drawn anything off the left of the screen, but I can't find any information on it at all. :(
Thanks!

This happens when you attempt to draw beyond the size of the backbuffer. You could probably get by this by giving the backbuffer a clipper as well, but that would severely cripple the frame rate of your application.

The only way I know of to get around this is to create a routine which returns the appropriate rectangle area of the graphic to be drawn. That way instead of drawing the entire graphic, you're only drawing the portion which is being displayed.

EDIT:
There's nothing wrong with the clipper. As you notice, the clipper is for the primary surface, not the backbuffer.