make my process 'access denied' when terminate

BrettW

Freshman
Hi everyone.

I am making a program that blocks certain processes and i don't want my process to be terminated. Anyone got any ideas on how to do this??? Is it done in vb code or not?

Thanks in advance.

If someone has sufficient permissions then there is no real way to prevent a person from killing an application, certain utilities like Task Manager will themselves prevent you from killing certain system processes but this is a feature of task manager itself, if you were to use an alternate tool like pskill or Process Explorer then you can kill anything (including stuff like winlogon) and as such you will suffer the consequences.

The easiest way to prevent a person from terminating a process is to make sure they are not running as an administrator on the system in question.

Hi

I am an administrator on my pc and there is an anti-virus program that i cannot terminate
from task manager. There must be a way to do this!?!??!?

And what is happening when you try to kill it? Do you get a message box? Or does the process just not disappear?

There are some background processes which use a "guardian process" (or the program's front-end) that will restart the background process immediately after it is terminated, such as certain viruses, google updater, or zunebusenum for Microsoft's Zune. I personally find this behavior to be completely unacceptable under any situation on a personal computer at any time ever. If a user tries to terminate a process, it must end. Who's in charge of who?

It might seem benign in certain cases, but it undermines a users authority over his own machine. I will go to any length to stop a process that I don't want running.