Intellisense not suggesting VB?

Denaes

Senior Contributor
Yeah, this is pretty minor and kinda silly, but when I type this line:

Visual Basic:
<script runat="server" language="VB">

and I get to the language tag, it suggests: ecmascript, javascript, jscript & vbscript.

I'm using VS2005 and following a book on learning ASP.Net. It's just annoying each time I try to type "VB" "vbscript" is inserted and I have to go back and delete it. In this case I do not have a page directive stating that I'm using VB, so the tag is required.

Thanks if anyone knows why.

Doesn't the language identifier for server-side code go in the page tags at the top of the code?...
Code:
<%@ Page [color=red]Language="vb"[/color] AutoEventWireup="false" Codebehind="WebForm1.aspx.vb" Inherits="playtime.WebForm1"%>
The script command you're using there will handle ordinary VBScript ... but I'm no expert...

Whoops. Sorry. I thought the term would be familiar in this forum.

OOT = Out Of Topic.

I'm using OOT since I'm asking something not relevant to the thread's main discussion.

Script tags

If you read Denaes' post properly:

I'm using VS2005 and following a book on learning ASP.Net. It's just annoying each time I try to type "VB" "vbscript" is inserted and I have to go back and delete it. In this case I do not have a page directive stating that I'm using VB, so the tag is required.

Normally a Page directive would suffice, but in this case Denaes is not using one so the tag is required.

Back to Denaes' question, I would say this is an unfortunate lacking in the IDE (not really a bug). As for why it is, I expect that it's just something the IDE developers forgot to include. Many of the samples in MSDN use the script tag in this way, so it is definitely supported, but I suppose the vast majority of the time the script tag will be used for Javascript or VBScript. Either way I doubt there is much you can do about it.