Indexed Properties

brentnewbury

Newcomer
Hiya all,

I'm not a newbie to .NET by any means, but I've obviously missed something big here.

For some reason I can't seem to get indexed properties to work! Well, not in the way I want (and think to be most logical), I can get them to work like:
Code:
public int this[int index]
{
    get { ... }
    set { ... }
}
but not like this:
Code:
public int Item[int index]
{
    get { ... }
    set { ... }
}
I know I seem dumb, but to me it doesn't seem logical to have the item itself manage it's own collection. To me it seems more logical to have the owning class manage a collection of its subordinates.

Here's the code I would like to use:
Code:
using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;

public class Collector
{
	private List<Item> _collection;

public Item Items[int index]
	{
		get { return this._collection[index]; }
		set { this._collection[index] = (Item)value; }
	}

// Other members, properties, and methods

public class Item
	{
		// Members, properties, and methods
	}
}
Do any of you have any advice?

Regards,

Brent

Last edited:
The first thing that comes to mind is exposing the collection:
C#:
using System;

public class Collector
{

public List<Item> Items
	{
		get { return this._collection; }
	}

public class Item
	{
	}
}

-ner

Nerseus said:
The first thing that comes to mind is exposing the collection:
C#:
using System;

public class Collector
{

public List<Item> Items
	{
	}

public class Item
	{
	}
}

-ner
Well bloody hell! I've just been searching for bloody hours trying to find stuff about named indexers (e.g. System.Runtime.CompilerServices.CSharp.IndexName("..."), System.Runtime.CompilerServices.IndexerName("..."), etc).

I'm bloody annoyed with myself! But why don't Microsoft just have named indexers, why is this keyword compulsory? Are they trying to enforce a wierred and wonderful object oriented ideal?