I clearly need help with transparency :)

Grand Nagus

Newcomer
Hey guys. I knew I'd be back! :) Maybe I have a more challenging question than my last one...

I'm working on a 2d tile-rendering engine based on Direct3D and quads, and so far it's pretty impressive! (I'm a noob to DirectX, so it doesn't take much to impress me. ;) ) It has a particle system that works (something blows up and it throws sparks - REALLY cool effect!), and you can assign a blendfunc to each individual tile instead of the whole shebang so it renders how you want it to look. WOW! ...Sorry, I didn't mean to carry on like that, I'm just excited about getting something to actually work! Programming my own game from the ground-up beats the heck out of modding somebody else's work (Quake3, Elite Force)! I can see why you guys have so much fun in what you're doing. :)

Anyways, here's my question...

I'm trying to make the texture on a quad 'fade' out using alpha blending. First, here's some stuff that I'm gonna reference later in my explanation of my problem:

Code:
// this is my customvertex struct...
struct CUSTOMVERTEX2
{
    float x, y, z, rhw;	// The transformed position for the vertex
    DWORD color;		// The vertex color
	float tu, tv;		// The texture coordinates
};

// LOTS of stuff to create an array of quads

// this is a pointer to my struct...
CUSTOMVERTEX2	*pVertices;

// locked this vert buffer and actually changing and re-assigning the new color value...
oldColor = pVertices[0].color;
newColor = oldColor + 0x00000001;

if (newColor > 0xFFFFFFFF)
	newColor = 0xFFFFFF00;

pVertices[0].color = newColor;
pVertices[1].color = newColor;
pVertices[2].color = newColor;
pVertices[3].color = newColor;