How to move to the next textbox after pressing Enter

esposito

Centurion
Hello, I'm new to ASP.NET. I'd like to know if it is possible, while you are typing in a textbox, to set the focus to the next textbox pressing Enter on the keyboard.

Any help will be appreciated.

TIA

Dear brother,Pasquale
Every TextBox Control has a property called TabIndex.
this item specifies which textbox or Server Side control must be focuced on!(1one 2nd ,...)
By default when ever u press enter the unique Button fires.
So theorically u need to write or override new Event for pressing Enter!
Correct me profs.:) ;)

You'll have to verify that OnKeyPress if the key is <ENTER> (not written like that... you know what I mean).

If it's <ENTER> you'll have to search the next TextArea (or text) and use .Focus() on it.
This way... everything will work... at least... I think ! ;)

Dear Arch4ngel, I'm not talking about Windows forms but Web forms and, as far as I know, the Focus() method and the onKeyPress event do not exist when dealing with server controls. Please correct me if I am mistaken.

Arch4ngel said:
You'll have to verify that OnKeyPress if the key is <ENTER> (not written like that... you know what I mean).

If it's <ENTER> you'll have to search the next TextArea (or text) and use .Focus() on it.
This way... everything will work... at least... I think ! ;)

Dear shahab, I have set the TabIndex property to 1 for TextBox 1 and to 2 for TextBox2. Then I have a button whose TabIndex is set to 3. In spite of this, if I press Enter when the focus is on TextBox1, the Click event of the button is executed.

How could I amend this problem?

TIA

shahab said:
Dear brother,Pasquale
Every TextBox Control has a property called TabIndex.
this item specifies which textbox or Server Side control must be focuced on!(1one 2nd ,...)
By default when ever u press enter the unique Button fires.
So theorically u need to write or override new Event for pressing Enter!
Correct me profs.:) ;)