How to implement a windows service??

brazilnut52

Newcomer
Hello. I am new to VB .NET. I have been given a project that will require a windows service. I would like to create a program that runs in the background all the time. The actuall functionality is triggered when an email is received in the inbox of my outlook. The program basically checks the email... if it is from the desired sender it processes the zip file associated. At this time, I need general direction on how to implement a program that runs constantly. I think I can figure out the file processing myself.

Thanks,
brazilnut

It doesn't sound like you need a Windows Service exactly because you want it to pull out of your Outlook? Will the program actually interact with Outlook, or do you really mean it will connect to Exchange and pull the emails from there? If it has to interact with the Outlook program itself, then a Windows Service is probably not the best option since the user will have to be logged in and running Outlook. Do you mean it will come from Exchange?

Good question. Ideally, this service will run at all times.. even when the user is not logged in. Therefore anytime the service is on and my inbox receives an email, the service is triggered. So I guess I stated my question incorrectly earlier. I actually need the program to interact with the email server. It should be triggered when an email comes to my inbox on the email server.

Once I get this figured out I can do more with the actual mail:
1) I will need to unzip attachments
2) parse certain data out of the txt body of the email.