Global varible

shankar_it

Freshman
I have declared a srting in Form 1

Dim AUDTYPE As String

i want to use this varible in any form

Is there a way to declare this varible as global.I am new to VB.net programing.Can any one help in this?.

I am using this in VB.net windows form

shankar_it said:
I have declared a srting in Form 1

Dim AUDTYPE As String

i want to use this varible in any form

Is there a way to declare this varible as global.I am new to VB.net programing.Can any one help in this?.

Create a module (you do this in the Solution Explorer just like for a class) and declare your variable there instead of in your form. Also, only use "Dim" in procedures and functions. At the class or module level you should use "Private", "Public", etc.

I did create a module and just typed in

Dim AUDID as String

but form1 does not recognise AUDID

Do i have to add this module in each and every form,If so can you please tell me the command to do it.

jmcilhinney said:
Create a module (you do this in the Solution Explorer just like for a class) and declare your variable there instead of in your form. Also, only use "Dim" in procedures and functions. At the class or module level you should use "Private", "Public", etc.

In your declaration of the variable change Dim to Public and you should be good. By default Dim means the scope is local, which in this case is the module, not any forms in the project.

Thank you for your help

Machaira said:
In your declaration of the variable change Dim to Public and you should be good. By default Dim means the scope is local, which in this case is the module, not any forms in the project.