extract specific text from a file using VB 2008

rs264

Newcomer
Hi, I'm a beginner to programming and i've looked all over the net for an answer and I can't find an answer to my problem. I found one that was close but coded in vb 6 and when I tried to upgrade the code with 2008 it wouldn't work and my debugging skills are...novice at best. Here's the text file I need to extract data from:
--------------------------------------------------
ftp> Connected to 10.100.50.25.

open 10.100.50.25
220 JD FTP Server Ready.
User (10.100.50.25:(none)):
331 Enter password.

230-Hewlett-Packard FTP Print Server Version 2.4.5

Directory: Description:
------------------------------------------------------
PORT1 Print to port 1 hp LaserJet 4250

To print a file, use the command: put <filename> [portx]
or 'cd' to a desired port and use: put <filename>.

Ready to print to PORT1

230 User logged in.
ftp> quit
221 Goodbye.

-------------------------------------------------------
This file is ftp data from an hp jetdirect printer and I've piped it to a text file
called log.txt. What I need to extract is just the name of the printer in question which here is listed on line 12 at character space 34 "hp laserjet 4250". All i need is to extract from line 12 starting at space 34 until the EOL and parse that string to another variable to use in a query of a printer database. The start of the string (hp) will always be on the same line and in the same place on the line it's just the rest of the string that varies depending on what jetdirect card I ftp to. I hope I've explained this clearly enough and that someone can either show me the code i need or point me in the right direction. Thanks in advance!:)

If the data is on the same line number, and in the same character position every time, this should get you started

Visual Basic:
Dim lines as String() = System.IO.File.ReadAllLines("log.txt")

For Each line as String in lines
    'Process line
    ' If line is 12, get printer name