Directx 9 and vb.net

georgepatotk

Contributor
Dear mates,

I need your helps.. I am very very new to game programming. I am planning to create a simple interactive program for a private institute and it requires me to create the program in those cartoon modes.

I have do some researches on it and found out I need to user directx 9 since I am using vb.net. Is this the right path I should go? or should I go for OpenGL. Anyway, I don't really understand the different between directx and opengl. Can you explain to me on the differences?

If Directx is the right path, what are the additional libraries I need to have in order to start the development of the game?

In summary, I wish to know whether DirectX is the right thing, and secondly I wish to know what else libraries/components I need to have. Thanks a lot

OpenGL is less supported in .NET, however there is this thing called CsGL which is for C#, although I'm not sure if it works with VB.NET.

OpenGL is great, its faster, but it has less features... but you can push it to its limits :D... I mean look at Doom3.. shees that game was awesome.. its a pity it wasn't as good as it was said to be...

DirectX on the other hand.. look at games like Half Life... MAN .. best game of all time IMO.. so interactive.

Ask wyrd, he knows a lot about this type of thing

Now there's advantages with OpenGL:
-No Runtimes
-Multi-Platform (I beleive it runs on Linux as well)
-Supposed to be Faster
-If you look into doing this for C++, there's a great library out there called SDL.

DirectX:
-More features
-Better Interface/Easier to code
-Better support(although version 9 really.. um.. blew it :p.. but Microsoft will get better :p)
-Can be programmed in more languages :D.
-Hey! there's a DirectX forum on this site :).
-Will be merged with XNA, supposedly an "XBOX SDK" if the rumors were true
-A lot of sites out there for this
-HLSL, PS/VS version 3.0(or is it 2.0)
-Lots of cards support it

-The Pentium Guy