Deploy web services

Nikko

Newcomer
Hello,

I'm new to web services and I just want to know what I need to deploy web services.

My web services will be write in VB.NET, C# or Java.

Thx

What exactly are you trying to do?

In VS.Net, you just need to create a Web Service Project in whatever language you are working in. From there, you'll probably want to change the .asmx file to something meaningful as well as change the Namespace from tempuri.org to your server or domain name.

From there, just add some Web-Methods to the class (by default, there's a hello world function you can play around with). Try to uncomment that, and compile the project. You should be able to set a web-reference to that project from another project (asp.net or win-forms, etc) and call the HelloWorld method and return a string to the caller.

Let me know if you want more detail or a specific scenario you're working on.

In that case, once you have tested everything locally, you can use the "Copy Project" button in the Solution Explorer to deploy to another server, use XCopy, or create a setup project for your installation (depending on your permissions on the server).

Ok thanks a lot.

But to run the web service (not on localhost), I must set it on a server web?
On this server, I must install the framework .net ?

Sorry to skip that, but yes, you'd have to have the .Net framework installed on the server. I just made the (incorrect) assumption that this was already the case.
And secondly, yes, your web service must reside on some sort of web server (IIS, etc).

Hi mocella,

You were saying the namespace needs to be changed from tempuri.org to server's name or domain name. I presumed the server's name means machine name. Am I right?