decrypting a batch of files

ram_son

Newcomer
I have been trying my hand at encrypting and decrypting files using vb.net and kind of succeded in encrypting and decrypting one file at a time. But I am having hard time decrypting 4 files that I need done before the form loads in an app. I am using a snippet that uses base64 that worked when I used
vb6; but I am new to vb.net and have not been able to do it. In the program I am only interested in decoding the files. So let's say I have four files that I encoded using base64 with the password "abc" and now have four files a.enc, b.enc, c.enc,and d.enc that are in the prg dir. I would like to decode them back to text files to a temp directory (C:\temp) and use them till the program is stopped.What parts of the code do I need in the program and do I get all four files decoded. It's not like I haven't tried but the best I did was end up with four files with different names but same content. Any assistance will be appreciated.

Without seeing the code you have so far it is hard to say exactly what changes you should be making ;)

Just out of interest are the files encrypted and then converted to Base64 as Base64 itself isn't a form of encryption - it is just a means of encoding binary files in an ASCII form.

This is what I am using right now.Like I said I am not sure if what I am doing is remotely the correct way to do this. The files are already encoded using a utility that uses the same code snippet. So I have the DecodeToByte and DecodeFile functions in the form like this:
Function DecodeToByte(ByVal enc As String) As Byte()
Dim bt() As Byte

bt = System.Convert.FromBase64String(enc)

Return bt

End Function

Sub DecodeFile(ByVal srcFile As String, ByVal destFile As String)
Dim src As String
Dim sr As New IO.StreamReader(srcFile)

src = sr.ReadToEnd

sr.Close()

Dim bt64 As Byte() = DecodeToByte(src)

If IO.File.Exists(destFile) Then
IO.File.Delete(destFile)
End If