Closing form with escape key?

ThienZ

Freshman
Is there any better way to close a form with escape key than making a button "Close", setting it as CancelButton, and then write inside a code to close like this :
Code:
private void buttonClose_Click(object sender, System.EventArgs e)
{
	this.Close();
}
?

thx in advance :)

Sure there is... :p
You have a solution that even works with no button.

Every Form have a property called: KeyPreview.
Setting this to TRUE will cause the Form to grab every imput from the user before it's processed to the actual control. This means that, even if the focus is on a TextBox, the KeyPress Event of the parent form will raise before the TextBox's do.

So, on the KeyPress Event of the Form, just validate if the Key is ESCAPE, if so, close it! :)

Alex :p

wow.. thx AlexCode... that's even better! Usually i make an extra button and set the width to 0 :lol:

Am i writing this right? cause this isn't working ^^;;; (I'm new to C# so i still need to get used to it...)
Code:
private void Form1_KeyPress(object sender, System.Windows.Forms.KeyPressEventArgs e)
{
	if(e.Equals(Keys.Escape))
		this.Close();
}

ThienZ said:
wow.. thx AlexCode... that's even better! Usually i make an extra button and set the width to 0 :lol:

Am i writing this right? cause this isn't working ^^;;; (I'm new to C# so i still need to get used to it...)
Code:
private void Form1_KeyPress(object sender, System.Windows.Forms.KeyPressEventArgs e)
{
	if(e.Equals(Keys.Escape))
		this.Close();
}

This will do, use the KeyDown event instead:
C#:
        Private Void Form1_KeyDown(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.Windows.Forms.KeyEventArgs)
        {
            If e.KeyValue = Keys.Escape Then this.Close();
        }

thx Alex, i tried to write like you did, but it didn't work... after some tries this code worked :
Code:
private void Form1_KeyDown(object sender, System.Windows.Forms.KeyEventArgs e)
{
	if((Keys) e.KeyValue == Keys.Escape) 
		this.Close();
}