C# IDE Text-Editor Issues

Mike_R

Junior Contributor
Hi guys,

I'm thinking about switching over to C# from VB.Net. I'm a little disappointed, however, that the C# Text Editor for Visual Studio seems to be inferior to that of VB.Net.

In particular, Syntax and Compile-Time errors are not picked up until the code is executed. Similarly, once errors are identified and fixed, the squiggly blue lines do not disappear on the fly, but instead wait until run again.

Is there a plug-in/patch/upgrade to improve C#? How about a C# beta 2005 version, is this improved?

I appreciate any and all feedback...

Mike

One more thing that drives me crazy about 2002-3 C# is the outlining feature. For some reason, it goes one line past the '}'. Thankfully, they fixed that in 2005.

Do you know if there a Beta of this somewhere that we can upload/plug-in to Visual Studio? I find the 2003 version almost unusable. :(

This forum rules

I'm glad I happened upon this posting. I'm somewhat new to Visual Studio .NET and I started out with Visual Basic. When I recently switched to C# I thought I was losing it until I realized that the IDE editors must be behaving differently. :rolleyes:

I have a question: Can I "plug in" the 2005 IDE editor into my 2003 VS? Or do I have to upgrade completely to get the editor fix?

Thanks! :)

Yeah, I've tracked down the C# 2005 Beta "light" version since my last post, above. The C# 2005 Beta is very nice. The VB.Net version is also really nicely improved.

But it is a "light" version. Most notably you cannot compile to a Release Build -- which is very reasonable given that it is free! But there are some, I don't know, maybe 10% or so of the "usual" features missing. Not obvious at first, but enough to drive you a bit crazy...