[C++] Control Properties on Different Forms

3xodus

Freshman
Hi everyone,
I'm new to C++ (2 days :P), and I'm trying to make a function to show a custom MessageBox - I always used to do this in VB6 and VB.NET as imo it looks nicer in certain apps...

Anyway, what I'm trying to do is create a function which can be called, and will show a messagebox with the message of your choice (once it's working I'll add icons and such too).

What I have so far is:
Code:
 private: System::Void MyMessage(System::String * Notice)
 	 {
 		  MsgBox *Message= new MsgBox;
 		//Message->lblNotice->Text = Notice;
 		  Message->ShowDialog();
 	 }
Which could be called like this for example: MyMessage("Hello World!");

My question is about the line that I've commented out. With that line I get the message:
"Cannot access private member declared in class 'prjMsgTest::MsgBox'"

Is it possible to access properties of controls on other forms, as I've failed to do in the code above? If so can anyone give an example? In VB.NET it would simply be
formName.labelName.Text = Notice

TIA for any suggestions :D

Thanks for the reply PlausiblyDamp.

I remember reading that thread when I started VB .NET - but it seems either I'm still missing something after reading it through a few more times, or C++ .NET works in a different way.

Trying to pass a string to the forms constructor, as in the example by Bucky in that thread, complains that "function does not take 1 argument". My code for that was:
Code:
   private: System::Void MyMessage(System::String * Notice)
   	 {
   		  MsgBox *Message = new MsgBox(Notice);
   		  Message->ShowDialog();
   	 }

The final example in Bucky's thread, I had some trouble with.

On my Form1, I put #include "MsgBox.h";, and then put this code to call the messagebox:
Code:
   MsgBox *Message = new MsgBox("foo");
   Message->ShowDialog();
At which C++ told me that the first line dosen't accept any arguments.