Associating Matrix with Shape

MikeyBe

Newcomer
Goal: I'm trying to make a game similar to the 2D atari classic "Tank" where 2 tanks move around the screen and try to shoot each other.

I'm pretty new to this stuff. I have suceeded in making the tanks using position vertices (which I am thinking now after reading some posts, is a bad idea) and am now trying to create matrices to move the tanks around since I want to use direction and vectors to move the tanks vs. having to move them pixels at a time by calculating slopes etc. I made the tanks using a trianglelist and put them on the screen using pixel coordinates(i.e positionvertex). However, I don't know how to associate a matrix with my tank.

I assume that I need to use transform matrices to draw the tanks, but have only seen posts on how to transform the world, or camera etc. which will, as I understand it, move both of my tanks. I want to know how to move 1 tank without moving the other.

I'm leaving this somewhat vague on purpose so that someone might feel kind enough to give me some insight on the best methods to make this type of game. A brief primer on what the transform matrix coordinates mean would be helpful as well (I notice that they are numbers like 0,1,1 as opposed to screen pixel coordinates.

Thanks,

MikeyBe

MikeyBe said:
Goal: I'm trying to make a game similar to the 2D atari classic "Tank" where 2 tanks move around the screen and try to shoot each other.

I'm pretty new to this stuff. I have suceeded in making the tanks using position vertices (which I am thinking now after reading some posts, is a bad idea) and am now trying to create matrices to move the tanks around since I want to use direction and vectors to move the tanks vs. having to move them pixels at a time by calculating slopes etc. I made the tanks using a trianglelist and put them on the screen using pixel coordinates(i.e positionvertex). However, I don't know how to associate a matrix with my tank.