Access Parent MDI from with Child?

haze

Newcomer
I'm still learning the ropes in .NET and I'm having a tough time with this MDI problem.

I've got a parent MDI which loads a child MDI, after which I want to be able to access certain methods that are in the parent from withih the child. How can I do this?

Thanks!!

You can use MDIParent if you just need reference to a standard Form object. If your MDI form is exposing specific methods or properties, you'll need to cast the MDIParent as the particular class.

For example, if your MDI Form is called frmMain:
C#:
public class frmMain : Form
{
    public string MyCoolStringField;
    // The rest of frmMain
}

Then you can access it from another form with:
C#:
// Within Form1, say in a button click:
string s = ((frmMain)this.MDIParent).MyCoolStringField;

-nerseus

I'm having the same trouble here.

I'm using an MDI application that has around four or five childres. Each child window is oppened via a toolStrip bar. This bar has four buttons, and each button opens each child.

What I want to achieve is that if certain child is open (let's say customers), I don't want the user to open the rest of the childs until they close the customers child window.

I tried disabling each toolStrip button from the parent form, at the moment it loads it child, but then I don't have a way to reenable the disabled toolStrip button from the child form, only the parent form can do it.

I tried something like this, and it worked, but I don't like it.

Code:
FormChildIVA formChildy = FormHijoIVA.GetIVAinstance;
formChildy.Close();

GetIVAinstance is a property I made to get an instance of the FormChildIVA form.

I could do this for every child, but I prefer to disable the toolStrip buttons in the parent form. Easier for the user to understand and (I think) easier to program.

What are your suggestions?

I'm having the same trouble here.