A VB convert...

Jibrohni

Freshman
Hey all, I'm just starting out using C# and am trying to learn by converting a program I've started in VB to C#.

Sadly I'm stuck early on with trying to generate an array of 52 randomly ordered integers. I have it working but fear that I'm not doing a tidy job. The routine seems very sluggish as opposed to it running in VB. Please can anyone advise on a better way to do this than my method below please?

I'm using a goto statement which I have a bad feeling about and it's also doing a fair few iterations that can most likely be avoided. Even so, it shouldn't be taking my nice new i5 processor 3-4 seconds??

Code:
private int RandomNumber(int min, int max)
        {
            Random random = new Random();
            return random.Next(min, max);
        }
        public int[] GenerateDeck()
        {
            int[] DECK = new int[52];       //creates an array to hold thegenerated deck
            int iCounter = 1;

do
            {
            Start:
                int rndNum = RandomNumber(0, 52);

if (DECK[rndNum] == 0)
                {
                    DECK[rndNum] = iCounter;
                    iCounter++;
                }
                else
                    goto Start;
            } while (iCounter < 53);

return DECK;

}
private void btnGenerate_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {

GenerateDeck();

}
I really appreciate your time. P.S. I like the efficiency and neatness of C# coding. Shame I'm crap at it...

I would start by using a for loop. These aren't too different between VB, the syntax is just painfully awkward and the terminating value is usually different by 1.
Code:
For [COLOR="Blue"]I As Integer[/COLOR] = [COLOR="Green"]0[/COLOR] To [COLOR="Red"]9[/COLOR]
Next
Code:
for([COLOR="Blue"]int i[/COLOR] = [COLOR="Green"]0[/COLOR]; i < [COLOR="Red"]10[/COLOR]; i++) { } // You could also change < 10 to <= 9

A for loop is the best way here. It makes it clear that you want to loop for 1 to 52.