A question on System.Threading.Timer

microkarl

Regular
All,
I have a question on using Threading Timer. Basically this is my first time to use this timer and before this, I use System.Timers most of the time (well, until I found out using System.Timers would be a pain in Windows Service...)

unlike Systems.Timer, Threading.Timer does not Start() and Stop() methods, and the worst of all, Threading Timer is NOT thread-safe, and allow Re-Entrence, how can I gurantee to all my code begin execute inside the TimerCallBack() without re-entrance? Is there any way to set the timer stop inside the TimerCallBack.

Here is one example (PseudocodeCode):
Code:
Public Class Main

Public Sub  Form1_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
        Try
            Dim autoEvent As New AutoResetEvent(False)
            Dim mTimer As New TimerThread
            Dim mtimerDelegate As TimerCallback = AddressOf mTimer.OnCheckMessages

stateTimer = New Timer(mtimerDelegate, autoEvent, 0, 2000)

Catch ex As Exception
            MessageBox.Show(ex.ToString)
        Finally

End Try
   End Sub

End Class

Public Class TimerThread

Public Sub New()
    End Sub

' This method is called by the timer delegate.
    Public Sub OnCheckMessages(ByVal stateInfo As Object)

Dim FileName As String
        Dim fileEntries As String()
        Dim autoEvent As AutoResetEvent

Try
	   'What can I do here to make sure all the code being exectued without being interruptted.

objLog = New ProcessLogging
            autoEvent = DirectCast(stateInfo, AutoResetEvent)

fileEntries = mDir.GetFiles("C:\Temp\", "*.txt")
            For Each FileName in fileEntries
                'TO DO: Write the name to a log file....
            Next

Catch ex As Exception
            'TO DO...
        End Try

End Sub

End Class

Thanks.

Use synchronization.
If a method needs to be synchronized, I usually use the MethodImplAttribute Class.

E.x.:
Visual Basic:
Imports System